From an introvert to a party starter ! How it all began 💁

 

One of my earliest memories of me was in preschool silently sitting and playing by myself, surrounded by noisy children. When all I wanted to do was to go home and sleep.
I liked keeping to myself and according to my mom , was totally low maintenance compared to my older sister and younger brother. I was extremely soft spoken and reserved.

I feel i was an introvert as a child 👩‍💼, hated public speaking and often hide under the desk thinking the teacher might ask me a question.But life has changed and how !  Thinking back, I cannot fantom that I would undergo such a drastic change in life.

As I grew older, even into adulthood, I continued to ease into things rather than plunge in head first. I would watch a bunch of people playing, get familiar with the game, the surroundings, until finally someone pushing, “Go on and jump in! What’s wrong with you?” But I believe that if we’re allowed to ease into things naturally instead of having other folks nagging or ridiculing us to hurry up, we’ll most likely get there faster and more smoothly, a lot happier for having done it when we’re ready.

As a creative child, i could pick up a basic prop and create a game out of it but never realised that it could turn into something big when i grew up. I used to observe my colleagues doing it and wondered if i could be part of it someday or how i wish i overcame my fear of conversing in public. The push came when there was this annual event in my office and my colleagues who hosted it every year decided to travel at the same time. There was no one else who volunteered to take it up.For several days i had nightmares and sleepless nights. But some really supportive colleagues, gave me the confidence and pushed me hard to pull it off. There has been no looking back from then and things have changed dramatically.
i have conducted hundreds of events from then, have raised the bar everytime and it is one of my favourite activities. I love to make people have fun ! Even now I get so excited about an event that i still have sleepless nights . But eventually the anxiety fades and enthusiasm kicks in.
There has been a few instances when I have totally messed up but this incident was totally epic due  to which my ex colleagues till date reminiscence about.
I was asked to keep a bunch of 100 engineers /managers / unruly adult kids occupied with a team building activity. It was an obstacle course which i took hours to set up and used thermcoal blocks on the ground to create the obstacle race. This was was at Guhantara resort. Once the set up was completed, i called the team to explain the rules which was pretty simple. They were divided into 8 teams and first member of each team was blind folded and the second member had to guide him through the obstacle course without removing the blind fold.Once he/she reaches the finishing point,they handover the blind fold to the next person and the same thing repeats.
how difficult would this simple instruction be!! So what happened next literally blew my mind. The game which was supposed to be a 30 mins game was over in seconds. ⏱️
One person peeped through his blind fold and hopped above the obstacles and literally ran🏃 over it .Looking at him, others followed and the whole game was over in 30-50 seconds.
i was totally flabbergasted as to how could they could have done this in seconds !! This was like my worst nightmare come true ☹️.
Anywayz the team made fun of me for the rest of the day …no hold on for rest of the week 🙄and the year !!!! 😭 And still on .. even after 10 years.

But i didnt let this deter me and continued taking this sportingly and bonded with the team till they got fed up of making fun 😄
Now am the party starter in every event and bring in with me tons of energy which rubs off on people and they cant help but join me on the dance floor or center stage.
if you really beleive in yourself and have a passion about something, dont let your fears come inbetween it, Build up courage and face it .

As Brian Tracy says “The key to success is to focus our conscious minds on the things we desire and things we fear”

Published by Shwetha

Love chasing waterfalls, climbing mountains, eating biryani after a tough climb :P

3 thoughts on “From an introvert to a party starter ! How it all began 💁

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started